NB Publishers

Sign up for our newsletter!

About this book

Dance of the Freaky Green Gold (ePub) | Young Adult Fiction

John Coetzee


Dance of the freaky green gold is the Silver winner in the Sanlam Prize for Youth Literature 2007.

This is what the judges had to say:

This is a gripping story that manages to explain some quite complex scientific facts in a very accessible manner. Global warming and the Kyoto Protocols are extremely topical. The scientific experiment is to turn algae into bio-fuels, and the details are intriguingly conveyed, with the photographs and diagrams contributing to the clarity.

The initial plot-impetus of a parental divorce and break-up of the home will impact on teen readers, as will the dislocation of moving to a new home and school. The element of the mysterious will intrigue, and the shading in of a love interest will be recognisable and familiar.

The opening chapter is excellent: we’re into the situation straight away, the tension between son and parent is palpable, the dilemma they are in is authentic. It is easy for the reader to believe completely in these people and in the relationship between Rick and his mother, as well as between Rick and his little sister.

In a situation of recognisable stress the character of Rick is brought face to face with some major dilemmas, and with issues that threaten the futures of both himself and his family, and those of his new friends Sipho and Inez.

While the author has clearly done solid research on the topic, he has managed to introduce science and the concept of global warming in a very readable manner.

The writer is congratulated on being a worthy recipient of the Silver Award.


Buy this book

Available at:


More information

Dance of the Freaky Green Gold (ePub) | Young Adult Fiction

Author: John Coetzee
Category: Young Adult Fiction
ISBN: 9780624052302
Date Released: 08 August 2008
Price (incl. VAT): R 170.00
Format: ePub, 114 pp

About this author

John Coetzee

John Coetzee's first book, Buks en die stropersbende, was published by Tafelberg in 1970. Another five titles in the Buks-series followed, as well as 21 other...